Comfort Food at Ted’s Bulletin

IMG_3134

C – If you squint, you can see Ted’s Bulletin in this picture. It was a cold and grey day, and what would typically be a bustling green area at the Mosaic District looked a little bleak. The perfect day for some comfort food.

IMG_3135Everyone’s been raving about Ted’s. Specifically, their adult milkshakes and homemade pop tarts. I heard rumors of crazy long waits – they don’t take reservations during peak lunch/brunch times. So, I showed up about 30 minutes early. I walked in, was told the wait would be 30 minutes, put my name on the list and decided to run across the street to Target. I was given a pager and I left my phone number in case I was too far out of range. I walked out the door, saw my friend – also super early – and the pager went off. No wait whatsoever. Strange for a Saturday just before noon, but hey, luck was on our side.

The atmosphere: upscale diner, cozy and comfortable. Counter seating, a generous amount of booths for two, and tables for larger parties.

The food: Deeee-lish. Not low-cal, for sure. My friend had “The Rachel” – basically a Rueben with turkey. I had the “Short Rib Sammy.” I’ve been on a bit of a short rib kick lately, so this was an interesting variation. Grilled texas toast, Vermont white cheddar, arugula, red wine gravy and red wine mayo, served with “bowling alley” onion rings. Fat Fest 2015. And I ate every bite.

IMG_3136The signature items: After enjoying the previously mentioned Fat Fest 2015, I couldn’t in good conscience order both of their signature items. So, I skipped the adult milkshake and split the salted caramel pop tart with my friend. There was a bit of a disagreement over the splitting of said pop tart. Tears fell. Plates were licked. It was an ugly scene.

Ted’s Bulletin
Mosaic District/Merrifield, VA
Reston Town Center, VA
Gaithersburg, MD and
1818 14th Street in DC

Leave a comment